Indian Navy

Indian Navy




The Indian Navy is the naval branch of the Indian Armed Forces. The President of India is the Supreme Commander of the Indian Navy. The Chief of Naval Staff, a four-star admiral, commands the navy.

The full range of operations in which a nation's naval forces may be involved is vast, ranging from high intensity war fighting at one end to humanitarian assistance and disaster relief operations at the other end. This broad continuum of operations can be broken down into distinct roles, each demanding a specific approach to the conduct of operations.

Accordingly, the four main roles envisaged for the Indian Navy are as follows:







Skill Based


  • Aim to serve society

  • Self-Discipline

  • Physical Fitness

  • Ability to slog hard

  • Critical thinker

  • Leadership qualities

  • Team spirit

  • Patriotic nature

  • Integrity and loyalty





Age - 16 ½ to 19 ½ years (at the time of commencement of course)

Nationality – Indian

Gender - Men only

Educational Qualifications-

For Army- 10+2 with PCM



NDA Exam Pattern


  • Written

Paper type:  Offline

The papers in both the subjects consist of objective type questions only.

There is penalty for wrong answers.


2 Paper

1 Paper= Mathematics

2 Paper= General Ability


General Ability Test paper is divided into two parts –

Part A and Part B.

Part A has 50 English questions

Part B has 100 General Knowledge questions.



SSB Interview



  • Stage 1

Officer Intelligence rating Test

Picture perception and Discussion Test


  • Stage 2

Psychological Tests

Group Tests



  • Medical Test




Technical Entry in Indian Navy (B.Tech)


Every year this recruitment is conducted twice a year and the examination is conducted by the Indian navy.



Education: Candidates should have Passed Senior Secondary Examination (10+2 Pattern) or its equivalent examinations from any Board with at least 70% aggregate marks in Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics (PCM)


Selection Process for Indian Navy Technical Entry Scheme (TES)


Stage 1: Merit list prepared on the basis of the marks obtained in JEE Mains


Stage 2:

SSB Interview

  • Psychological Tests

  • Group Tests

  • Interview


Stage 3

  • Medical Test







Disclaimer: The information provided here is best to our knowledge. It is highly recommended that you should cross-check the source of information through the specific Colleges and Institutes. WonderSkool (WS Education Pvt Ltd) is in no way responsible for the decisions made solely on the basis of this document.